Quick & Easy Old Fashioned Pancakes

I love having some good, fresh, homemade pancakes for breakfast when the mood strikes. This recipe makes excellent fluffy ones with just the right balance of butter, salt, sugar and milk, and are so easy to whip up in a heartbeat.

Very tasty on their own – my toddler loves them as they are – while I always have maple syrup with any pancakes. Enjoy!

Makes 8 pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups self-raising flour (or plain flour + 3 1/2 tsp baking powder)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbs sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups whole milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbs melted butter
  • Pinch of vanilla powder/ vanilla essence (optional, but I love my vanilla)

Method

    Sift the flour, salt & sugar.
    Pour in the milk, melted butter, egg and vanilla. Whisk until smooth.
    Heat griddle or pan brushed with oil on medium high. Pour 1/4 cup batter for each pancake.
    Wait till big bubbles form before flipping.
    Brown on both sides and serve hot!

Leave a comment